Leaving to Arrive.

The last day in Honduras was… depressing to say the least. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I was ready to see my family. But I was not ready to leave Honduras, at all. I wish my family, especially my mom, could have came on this trip with me. She would have completely loved it. While heading to the airport, I realized, my priorities need to change once I arrive back at home:
1. My relationship with my Lord and Savior needs to be number one. Without him, I wouldn’t be the woman I am today and I wouldn’t have been able to attend this amazing trip.
2. My relationship with my family and friends. I need to take more time for everyone in my life, because not only is this life precious but it is all too short. I need to live life like the song by Lee Brice, “be a best friend, tell the truth, and overuse “I Love You”, go to work, do your best, and don’t outsmart your common sense, never let your praying knees get lazy, and love like crazy”. This song needs to be an anthem of mine, for the rest of my life.
3. Finally, my education. The university students said that learning is their passion. They love to wake up and arrive at school everyday to learn. Their burning passion to learn gives me a burning passion to achieve the same things. To value my education more.
If I continue to focus on those three things, in that order, my life will constantly fall into place, as it should.

As I sat on the plane, flying over the gulf of Mexico, I couldn’t help but realize that half of my heart was still in Honduras with Trish and Marlon, with the students at UNAH-TEC, with the school children at Cola de Cajon, and with every resident of Las Piscinas. Then my other half is back home in Texas. I hope, one day, good Lord willing, that my degree will allow me to travel back to Las Piscinas, or Honduras, or anywhere in the world actually. I do want to learn Spanish, no doubt. It is such a pretty language. I want to be able to understand and speak such a beautiful language.

After getting off the plane, and stepping foot into Houston I realized what an overwhelming sight America can be, and honestly, I did not like it. I saw the roaring hustle of life, tempers flaring, lines, constant chatter on technology. I felt very claustrophobic, and I almost had a small panic attack. It scared me. I never thought the Houston, Texas airport would scare me… but it did. We went from a slow paced, peaceful lifestyle. With nothing loud except the cattle, or the birds, and maybe a few dozen laughs filling the sky. Once we arrived in Houston, it was just LOUD. Not even a beautiful loud just an overwhelming almost annoying loud.

Texas is home, but Honduras isn’t too far behind. My heart will forever be in the mountains of Honduras, just like it will forever be on the flat plains of West Texas.

-Love, Hope Sorrells

Leave a Reply

