The journey…

Before we were on the way to our three or so hour van ride to the canoes, we had to stop to fix our flat tire. I’m sure we really stood out there since we were taking pictures of everything and everyone. We even got to see how the kids got to school in the morning as they were all sitting in the back of a truck and as they passed by we waved. The scenery was amazing!! I will NEVER forget how my surroundings looked! I remember there was this young boy there at the tire shop and he just kept staring at us, but in a curious way, and it was really kind of interesting. Clara “tossed” (she missed and it landed in the back of a truck he was sitting in(;  ) him a peice of gum, and he smiled real big and it made us laugh. We were so open in everything we did and I really enjoyed the little moments. The moment that shocked me the most though, while we were waiting at the tire shop was when this older lady walked up to us and asked us if we had any money. We politely said no, and she said something not very nice…that we would “carry it with us,” trying to make us feel bad. After she left some of the girls and I felt bad, but Kendra told us it was ok, that it wouldn’t be the first time that would happen and it was normal.  You can’t possibly give to everyone and don’t want to create an problems by giving to a few.

My first canoe ride! I thought it was soo cool! My dream team buddy (Sam) and I  kept thinking we were going to tip over or something. I guess if you watched us it was kind of funny…just about every time the canoe would tilt close to the water we would almost jump on each other trying to get away from the sides. But that canoe ride was the first time I noticed that we weren’t in the states…you will never see a view like that here in America.

The 6 hour hiking trip…was the most challenging, but also the most fun I have ever had! I thought we were never going to get there but when we did I felt as if I could take on the world(:  There was so much mud and A DONKEY NAMED SQUIRREL! It was amazing to feel like we were on top of the mountains looking down.  It made me feel so small because I knew the world was big, but I was actually witnessing how big it really was. Mother nature is amazing!! When we were almost to the village we were traveling to, there was a long road of mud that seemed to just love the girls because by the end of it we were covered in it from head to toe. The guys laughed at us and I thought it was funny that the guys had no mud whatsoever on them!!?

Good thing the girls weren’t scared to get dirty(: in my opinion, that’s what made it that much more fun!

“When times got hard we depended on each other, leaning on one another just like a family should.”
Marisol

Leave a Reply

